Ode to a Friend…

Dedicated to grieving friend

A week after my friend lost her husband in April..2015

“ You left me alone,

You broke my heart,

You made my soul  restless.

My tears will never quench my thirst for you..

Nor anyone can ever replace you..

BUT…

I will slowly gather every sweet memory,

Of every loving moment spent with you and you alone

AND

Weave a blanket of warmth in my heart

And sleep with it ..

Till we meet again….

 

Two weeks later was his birthday…

It was your birthday;

But you weren’t there…

Candle was burning;

But the cake wasn’t there..

The flickering flame was the only witness

Of my loneliness..

The flickering flame was the only witness

Of my one wish for you..

Could you not have borrowed

Some breaths from me..

To live all over just for me…

Leave a Reply

